25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films ARMY OF LOVERS IN THE HOLY LAND

ARMY OF LOVERS IN THE HOLY LAND

© Ingenue Productions Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

Award-winning documentary about the Jewish roots of the Swedish queer pop band Army of Lovers and its singer Jean-Pierre Barda making aliyah.

62 min. |

Director: Asaf Galay Israel 2018, documentary, German premiere, 65 min., Hebrew, English, Swedish with English subtitles Producer: Naama Pyritz Cinematography: Avner Shahaf, Uri Ackerman Cast: Jean-Pierre Barda, Alexander Bard, Dominika Peczynski

Their disco hits “Crucified” and “Obsession” left their mark on 1990s European pop music; their garish, kitschyshrill music videos have never been forgotten. The Swedish band Army of Lovers combined the glamour and sexual permissiveness of drag and gay culture with elements of Jewish culture, rising to become international pop stars almost three decades ago. It is much less widely known that Jean-Pierre Barda, the band’s Jewish singer originally from Algeria, decided to emigrate to Israel in 2015. Filmmaker Asaf Galay accompanies the band through turbulent times full of amusing-absurd moments, from its beginnings in Stockholm’s gay scene to its path to fame to Jean-Pierre’s aliyah, his emotional quest for himself, and his new life in Tel Aviv.

2018 Haifa Film Festival, Best Documentary

ARMY OF LOVERS IN THE HOLY LAND (IL 2018) THE HEBREW SUPERHERO (co-director) (IL 2015) THE MUSES OF ISAAC BASHEVIS SINGER (co-director) (IL 2014)

Asaf Galay grapples with Jewish culture and history in various media. He curated exhibitions on Jewish fashion designers, the Dreyfus Affair, and soul singer Amy Winehouse. His films include THE HEBREW SUPERHERO (2014) on Israeli comics and their superheroes and THE MUSES OF ISAAC BASHEVIS SINGER (2015) (both with Shaul Betser) about nine of the more than 40 translators of the works of Yiddish-language Nobel laureate Isaac Bashevis Singer, who became his muses.

Screenings

13.09.2019

21:15
DELPHI LUX

Introduction: Thomas Abeltshauser

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme ARMY OF LOVERS IN THE HOLY LAND

ARMY OF LOVERS IN THE HOLY LAND

© Ingenue Productions Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Preisgekrönter Dokumentarfilm über die jüdischen Wurzeln der schwedischen Queer-Popband Army of Lovers und der Alija ihres Sängers Jean-Pierre Barda nach Israel.

62 min. |

Regie: Asaf Galay IL 2018, Deutschlandpremiere Produzent: Naama Pyritz Kamera: Avner Shahaf, Uri Ackerman Schnitt: Nilli Feller Musik: Army of Lovers

Ihre Disco-Hits „Crucified“ und „Obsession“ prägten die europäische Popmusik der 90er Jahre, ihre quietschbunten, kitschig-schrillen Musikvideos sind unvergessen. Die schwedische Band Army of Lovers mischte den Glamour und die sexuelle Freizügigkeit der Drag- und Schwulenkultur mit Elementen der jüdischen Kultur und stieg damit vor fast drei Dekaden in die Riege der internationalen Popstars auf. Weit weniger bekannt dagegen ist der Entschluss des aus Algerien stammenden jüdischen Sängers Jean-Pierre Barda, 2015 nach Israel auszuwandern. Filmemacher Asaf Galay begleitet die Band durch turbulente Zeiten voll amüsant-absurder Momente: von den Anfängen in Stockholms LGBTQ-Szene und auf ihrem Weg zum Ruhm bis zu Jean-Pierres Alija, seiner emotionalen Suche nach sich selbst und dem neuen Leben in Tel Aviv.

Haifa Film Festival 2018 (Bester Dokumentarfilm) San Francisco Jewish Film Festival 2019

THE HEBREW SUPERHERO (Co-Regie) (IL 2015) THE MUSES OF ISAAC BASHEVIS SINGER (Co-Regie) (IL 2014)

Asaf Galay setzt sich in unterschiedlichen Medien mit jüdischer Kultur und Geschichte auseinander. Er kuratierte Ausstellungen über jüdische Modedesigner, die Dreyfus-Affäre und die Soulsängerin Amy Winehouse. Als Filmemacher realisierte er gemeinsam mit dem Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Shaul Betser THE HEBREW SUPERHERO (2014) über israelische Comics und ihre Superhelden sowie THE MUSES OF BASHEVIS SINGER (2015) über neun der mehr als 40 Übersetzerinnen des in Jiddisch schreibenden Nobelpreisträgers Isaac Bashevis Singer, die zu dessen Musen wurden.

Filmvorstellungen

13.09.2019

21:15
DELPHI LUX

Einführung: Thomas Abeltshauser

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren