25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films IN THE DESERT

IN THE DESERT

© Ruth Films Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

One country, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict – two families – two plans for life

215 min. |

Director& cinematography: Avner Faingulernt IL/CA 2018, documentary, Berlin premiere, 215 min., Arabic/Hebrew with English subtitles Producers: Paul Cadeaux, Shlomi Elkabetz, Hagar Saad Shalom, Danae Elon, Galit Bachlon Production: Skene Border Films, Filmoption International, Deux Beaux Garcons Films, Entre Deux Mondes Productions Supported by: The Israel Film Council – Ministry of Culture and Sport, Quebec Crédit d’impôt cinema et television – Gestion SODEC, The Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit International distribution: Ruth Films, Israel

IN THE DESERT is a diptych documentary about two realities, two families in one land. Both parts have a dialectic relationship to each other, an inherent tension that exists by their very juxtaposition: “Omar's Dream” is about a Palestinian family; “Avidan's Dream” is about a Jewish one. Both families live in an area of the West Bank that is governed by the Palestinian Authority but controlled by the Israeli Army – which officially prohibits anyone from settling there. The two families live on opposite hills, but never meet. Both men discover their lives are determined by a personal struggle to define who they really are rather than by a political conflict. IN THE DESERT is a profound journey trying to defy what is commonly known about the Israeli Palestinian conflict. (Courtesy of Ruth Films: http://www.ruthfilms.com/in-the-desert.html)

Doc Aviv, Tel Aviv 2018 (Best Cinematography Award and Fipresci Best Director Award); Filmfest Hamburg 2018, Germany; Doc Buenos Aires 2018, Argentina; Viennale 2018, Austria; Academia Film Olomouc 2019, Czech Republic; Millenium Documentary Film Festival 2019, Belgium; FICIC Festival Internacional de Cine Independiente de Cosquín 2019, Argentina

WAR MATADOR (IL 2011) MATADOR OF LOVE (IL 2006) MEN ON THE EDGE – FISHERMEN’S DIARY (IL 2005) EVA (IL 2002); MY NA’AN (IL 2001) THE FIRST WILL BE THE LAST (IL 1997) LEV, HURT AND SILENCE (IL 1995) COME CALL THE WIND (IL 1994) EDGE OF A STRING (IL 1993)

Avner Faingulernt is an independent filmmaker and a professor at Sapir Academic College. He co-founded the School of Audio & Visual Arts, Sapir Academic College, and has taught there since its establishment in 2001. In addition to filmmaking and his academic career, he also co-founded the Cinema South Festival in Sderot and is editor-in-chief of the annual “Cinema South Notebooks” and the Cinema South The Curaot Book.

Screenings

15.09.2019

20:00
fsk Kino

Guests: Bert Rebhandl talks with Avner Faingulernt

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme IN THE DESERT

IN THE DESERT

© Ruth Films Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Ein Land, der israelisch-palästinensische Konflikt, zwei Familien, zwei Lebensentwürfe

215 min. |

Regie & Kamera: Avner Faingulernt IL/CA 2018, Berliner Premiere Produzent*innen: Paul Cadeaux, Shlomi Elkabetz, Hagar Saad Shalom, Danae Elon, Galit Bachlon Produktion: Skene Border Films, Filmoption International, Deux Beaux Garcons Films, Entre Deux Mondes Productions Mit Unterstützung von: The Israel Film Council – Ministry of Culture and Sport, Quebec Crédit d’impôt cinema et television – Gestion SODEC, The Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit Weltvertrieb: Ruth Films, Israel

IN THE DESERT ist ein dokumentarisches Diptychon über die unterschiedlichen Realitäten zweier Familien in einem Land und die dialektische Beziehung, die durch die inhärente Spannung aufgrund ihrer Gegenüberstellung entsteht: In ‚Omar’s Dream’ geht es um eine palästinensische Familie und bei ‚Avidan’s Dream‘ um eine jüdische. Beide Familien leben in der West Bank, einem der palästinensischen Autonomiegebiete, die aber von der israelischen Armee kontrolliert werden, die wiederum offiziell jede Art von Siedlung dort verbietet. Die beiden Familien leben auf gegenüberliegenden Hügeln und treffen sich nie. Das Leben beider Männer ist mehr von ihrem persönlichen Kampf um Selbstfindung als von einem politischen Konflikt bestimmt. IN THE DESERT ist ein Versuch sich der Deutungen zu widersetzen, was man gemeinhin über den israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt weiß. (Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Ruth Films: http://www.ruthfilms.com/in-the-desert.html)

Docaviv Tel Aviv 2018 (Best Cinematography Award und Fipresci Best Director Award) Filmfest Hamburg 2018 Doc Buenos Aires 2018 Viennale Wien 2018 Academia Film Olomouc 2019 Millenium International Documentary Film Festival Brüssel 2019 Festival Internacional de Cine Independiente de Cosquín (FICIC) 2019

WAR MATADOR (IL 2011) MATADOR OF LOVE (IL 2006) MEN ON THE EDGE – FISHERMEN’S DIARY (IL 2005) EVA (IL 2002); MY NA’AN (IL 2001) THE FIRST WILL BE THE LAST (IL 1997) LEV, HURT AND SILENCE (IL 1995) COME CALL THE WIND (IL 1994) EDGE OF A STRING (IL 1993)

Avner Faingulernt ist unabhängiger Filmemacher und Professor am Sapir Academic College. Er ist Mitbegründer der School of Audio & Visual Arts des Sapir Academic College und unterrichtet dort seit der Gründung 2001. Zusätzlich zum Filmemachen und seiner akademischen Karriere war er ebenfalls Mitbegründer des Cinema South Festival in Sderot, Chefredakteur der jährlichen „Cinema South Notebooks“ und des Cinema South The Curaot Book.

Filmvorstellungen

15.09.2019

20:00
fsk Kino

Zu Gast: Bert Rebhandl im Gespräch mit Avner Faingulernt

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren