25 JAHRE JFBB!

M

© Indie Sales Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

Yolande Zauberman’s excellent film about sexual abuse in an Orthodox community shows the problem as a global topic that must not be swept under the rug.

105 min. |

Director: Yolande Zauberman IL/FR 2018, documentary, Berlin premiere, 105 min., Yiddish/Hebrew with English subtitles Production: Charles Gillibert for CG Cinéma (Non-Fiction, Knight + Heart, Mustang); Fabrice Bigio & Yolande Zauberman for Phobics Films International distribution: Indie Sales, France Sound: Sélim Nassib Editing: Raphaël Lefèvre

M tells the story of Menahem Lang, a formerly Orthodox Jew from Bnei Berak, who returns there after 15 years with director Yolande Zauberman. Menahem and other boys were abused in their community when they were children. The audacious endeavor to return to the place of the perpetrators and confront them is practically cathartic and makes everyone involved come to terms with the past, in a sense therapeutically. How can people live with these experiences – is it possible for them to find closure? Yolande Zauberman gives the victims the voice they deserve and places the problem of the perpetrators in a global context. The film shows and reiterates that one must not be silent if the spiral of violence is to be stopped.

Locarno Film Festival 2018 (Locarno’s Special Jury Prize); Hamburg Filmfestival (2018); Göteborg Film Festival, Sweden 2019; FICUNAM, Mexico 2019; Vilnius International Film Festival 2019; Hong Kong International Film Festival 2019

WOULD YOU HAVE SEX WITH AN ARAB? (FR 2012) UN JUIF À LA MER (FR 2005) PARADISE NOW - JOURNAL D’UNE FEMME EN CRISE (FR 2004 LA GUERRE À PARIS (FR 2002) CLUBBED TO DEATH (FR 1996) I IVAN, YOU ABRAHAM (FR 1993) CASTE CRIMINELLE (FRA 1990) CLASSIFIED PEOPLE (FRA 1988)

Yolande Zauberman was born in Paris and studied art history and economics before collaborating with Amos Gitaï. In 1987, she made her first documentary CLASSIFIED PEOPLE about apartheid in South Africa, and her next film, CASTE CRIMINELLE (1990), was invited to the Festival de Cannes. She is an extraordinary voice in French documentary filmmaking, daring to take up controversial and sensitive topics.

Screenings

11.09.2019

19:00
Hackesche Höfe Kino

Guests: Peter Stefan Jungk (Paris) talks with Yolande Zauberman (Paris)

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

M

© Indie Sales Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Yolande Zaubermans ausgezeichneter Film über sexuellen Missbrauch in einer orthodoxen Gemeinde zeigt das Problem als globales Thema.

105 min. |

Regie: Yolande Zauberman IL/FR 2018, Berliner Premiere Produktion: Charles Gillibert for CG Cinéma (Non-Fiction, Knight + Heart, Mustang); Fabrice Bigio & Yolande Zauberman for Phobics Films Weltvertrieb: Indie Sales, Frankreich Sound: Sélim Nassib Editing: Raphaël Lefèvre

M erzählt die Geschichte von Menahem Lang, einem ehemals orthodoxen Juden aus der israelischen Stadt Bnei Barak, der nach 15 Jahren gemeinsam mit der Regisseurin Yolande Zauberman dorthin zurückkehrt. Menahem und auch andere Jungen wurden als Kinder in ihrer Gemeinde missbraucht. Das wagemutige Unterfangen, an den Ort der Täter zurückzukehren und sie zur Rede zu stellen, kommt einer Katharsis nahe und wird unweigerlich zu einer Art therapeutischer Aufarbeitung für alle Beteiligten. Wie kann man mit diesen Erlebnissen weiterleben? Ist es möglich, innerlich mit dem Erlebten abzuschließen? Yolande Zauberman gelingt es, den Opfern ihre verdiente Stimme zu geben, und sie schafft es, das Problem der Täter global zu verorten. Der Film zeigt und bekräftigt, dass nicht geschwiegen werden darf, wenn die oftmals wiederkehrende Spirale der Gewalt beendet werden soll.

Film Festival Locarno 2018 (Locarno's Special Jury Prize) Hamburger Filmfestival 2018 Göteborg Film Festival 2019 Festival Internacional de Cine UNAM (FICUNAM) Mexiko 2019 Vilnius International Festival 2019 Hong Kong International Film Festival 2019

WOULD YOU HAVE SEX WITH AN ARAB? (FR 2012) UN JUIF À LA MER (FR 2005) PARADISE NOW - JOURNAL D’UNE FEMME EN CRISE (FR 2004 LA GUERRE À PARIS (FR 2002) CLUBBED TO DEATH (FR 1996) I IVAN, YOU ABRAHAM (FR 1993) CASTE CRIMINELLE (FRA 1990) CLASSIFIED PEOPLE (FRA 1988)

Yolande Zauberman wurde in Paris geboren und studierte Kunstgeschichte und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, bevor sie mit Amos Gitaï zusammenarbeitete. 1987 drehte sie ihren ersten Dokumentarfilm CLASSIFIED PEOPLE über die Apartheid in Südafrika, und ihr nächster Film CASTE CRIMINELLE (1990), wurde zu den Filmfestspielen in Cannes eingeladen. Sie ist eine außergewöhnliche Stimme im französischen Dokumentarfilm und wagt sich an kontroverse und sensible Themen heran.

Filmvorstellungen

11.09.2019

19:00
Hackesche Höfe Kino

Zu Gast: Peter Stefan Jungk (Paris) im Gespräch mit Yolande Zauberman (Paris)

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren