MAYOR

GERMAN PREMIERE

| 89 min. |USA/UK 2020

Language: Arabic/ English (Original) Subtitles: English

‘Mayor’ Review: The Best New Film About Israeli-Palestinian Conflict Is a Dark Comedy About Ramallah’s Mayor “David Osit's documentary blends black comedy and unnerving suspense for a fascinating look at life under occupation. In “Mayor,” a thrilling and perceptive new documentary from director David Osit, the normalcy of everyday life faces the constant threat of disruption. That’s the conundrum facing Musa Hadid, the overworked protagonist at the center of an operatic vérité drama that often dips into bureaucratic black comedy and unnerving suspense, as Hadid’s exasperated attempts to keep the peace dissolve into a constant swirl of frustration.” Quotation from Eric Kohn, IndieWire 06.03.2020

Director, Producer, Cinematographer: David Osit Producers: Maxyne Franklin, Teddy Leifer Editor: David Osit, Eric Daniel Metzgar

Awards: NEXT:WAVE Prize, CPH:DOX 2020; Grand Jury Prize, Full Frame, Durham 2020 Festivals: True / False Film Festival 2020; San Francisco International Film Festival 2020; Hot Docs 2020; Maryland Film Festival 2020; Nantucket FF 2020, Woods Hole Film Festival, New Zealand Film Festival 2020

OFF FRAME (2016) THANK YOU FOR PLAYING (Co-Regie, 2015) BUILDING BABEL (2012)

David Osit, born in 1987, is a director, editor, and composer. His films have been screened at major film festivals and received three nominations for the Emmy Award. He won the prize for Outstanding Arts & Culture Documentary. He also edited and produced OFF FRAME AKA REVOLUTION UNTIL VICTORY, which premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival and the Berlinale in 2016. David is an alumnus of Berlinale Talents and the Sundance Nonfiction Director’s Lab.

Screenings

11.09.2020

19:00
City Kino Wedding

DEUTSCHLANDPREMIERE

Ticketlink

MAYOR

DEUTSCHLANDPREMIERE

| 89 min. |USA/UK 2020

Sprache: Arabisch/Englisch (Original) Untertitel: Englisch

Kritik aus INDIEWIRE von Eric Kohn, 06. MÄRZ 2020 „Der beste neue Film über den israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt ist eine dunkle Komödie über den Bürgermeister von Ramallah. […] David Osits Dokumentarfilm kombiniert schwarze Komödie mit nervenaufreibender Spannung zu einem faszinierenden Blick auf das Leben unter der Besatzung. […] In „Mayor“, einem packenden und scharfsinnigen neuen Dokumentarfilm des Regisseurs David Osit, ist die Normalität des Alltags ständig davon bedroht, dass alles durcheinandergebracht wird. Mit diesem unlösbaren Problem ist Musa Hadid konfrontiert. Er ist der überarbeitete Protagonist im Zentrum dieses opernartigen und dennoch realitätsnahen Dramas, das sich häufig der schwarzen Komödie und nervenaufreibender Spannung bedient, während Hadids entnervte Versuche, den Frieden zu erhalten, sich in einem ständigen Strudel der Frustration auflösen.“

Regie, Produktion, Kamera: David Osit Produzent*innen: Maxyne Franklin, Teddy Leifer Schnitt: David Osit, Eric Daniel Metzgar

Auszeichnungen: NEXT:WAVE Prize, CPH:DOX 2020; Grand Jury Prize, Full Frame, Durham 2020 Festivals: True / False Film Festival 2020; San Francisco International Film Festival 2020; Hot Docs 2020; Maryland Film Festival 2020; Nantucket FF 2020, Woods Hole Film Festival, New Zealand Film Festival 2020

OFF FRAME (2016) THANK YOU FOR PLAYING (Co-Regie, 2015) BUILDING BABEL (2012)

David Osit (geb. 1987) ist Regisseur, Editor und Komponist. Seine Filme wurden auf großen Filmfestivals gezeigt und bereits dreimal für den Emmy Award nominiert. Er gewann den ‚Outstanding Arts & Culture Documentary‘ Preis. Außerdem editierte und produzierte er OFF FRAME AKA REVOLUTION UNTIL VICTORY, der 2016 auf dem Toronto International Film Festival und der Berlinale uraufgeführt wurde. David ist Alumnus von Berlinale Talents und dem Sundance Nonfiction Director's Lab.

Kinovorstellungen

11.09.2020

19:00
City Kino Wedding

DEUTSCHLANDPREMIERE

Ticketlink