25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films THE PAPER BRIGADE

THE PAPER BRIGADE

© Archival The Paper Brigade Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

The documentary tells the moving story of the resistance group Paper Brigade, a group of Jewish writers, scholars, and librarians who desperately tried to rescue Jewish cultural treasures in Vilnius during the Nazi occupation.

60 min. |

Director: Diane Perelsztejn BE/FR 2018, documentary, German premiere, 60 min., yid/eng/fra/heb OV with German subtitles German narrator: Eva Mattes Production: Les Films de la Mémoire, Belgium; Création et Mémoire, Belgium; Poischiche Films, France; ARTE GEIE; RTBF; LRT International distribution: ARTE Producers: Willy Perelsztejn, Olivier Roncin Cinematography: Didier Hill Derive Editing: Marguerite Le Bourgeois

Before the Second World War, Vilnius was called the Jerusalem of the North. At the time, more than 60,000 Jews lived in the city known around the world for its magnificent Jewish libraries and its precious collections of Torah scrolls. The Nazis sought to destroy all traces of the roots of Judaism. They perfidiously forced Jewish librarians and writers, among them writer Abraham Sutzkever, to help them by plundering their own libraries and surrendering them to destruction. The resistance group Paper Brigade formed around librarian Kruk. In the face of approaching death, they desperately tried to rescue part of the precious collections for the future and from oblivion.

Mémorial de la Shoah 2018, Paris; IMAJ 2019, Brussels; Jewish International Film Festival Melbourne 2019, Gandel Holocaust Education Conference, Melbourne 2019

KATHLEEN FERRIER (BE/FR 2012); ROBERT FORTUNE: THE TEA THIEF (BE 2001); THE COMIC STRIP HITS 100 (BE 1996); ESCAPE TO THE RISING SUN (BE 1990)

Diane Perelsztejn is a prizewinning documentary filmmaker whose films have been screened at numerous international festivals and broadcast on television around the globe.

Screenings

16.09.2019

19:00
Hackesche Höfe Kino

In cooperation with the Lithuanian Culture Institute Guests: Nicola Galliner talks with Diane Peresztejn and Eva Mattes and an introduction by Dr. Anja Siegemund (Director Stiftung Neue Synagoge Berlin-Centrum Judaicum)

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme PAPIER-BRIGADE Die Shoah und die Bücher von Vilna

PAPIER-BRIGADE Die Shoah und die Bücher von Vilna

© Archival The Paper Brigade Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Die Dokumentation erzählt die bewegende Geschichte der Widerstandsgruppe PAPIER BRIGADE, die während der Nazibesetzung verzweifelt versuchte, die jüdischen Kulturschätze in Vilnius zu retten.

60 min. |

Regie: Diane Perelsztejn BE/FR 2018, Deutschlandpremiere deutsche Erzählstimme von Eva Mattes Produktion: Les Films de la Mémoire, Belgien; Création et Mémoire, Belgien; Poischiche Films, Frankreich; ARTE GEIE; RTBF; LRT Weltvertrieb: ARTE Produzenten: Willy Perelsztejn, Olivier Roncin Kamera: Didier Hill Derive Schnitt: Marguerite Le Bourgeois

Vor dem 2. Weltkrieg nannte man Vilnius das Jerusalem des Nordens. Mehr als 60.000 Juden lebten damals in der Stadt, die weltweit berühmt war für ihre prächtigen jüdischen Bibliotheken und ihre kostbaren Sammlungen der Thora-Rollen. Dort wollten die Nazis die Wurzeln des Judentums auslöschen. Sie bedienten sich auf perfide Weise der Hilfe der jüdischen Bibliothekare und Schriftsteller, unter ihnen der Schriftsteller Abraham Sutzkever. Die Nazis zwangen sie, ihre eigenen Bibliotheken zu plündern und der Vernichtung preiszugeben. Um den Bibliothekar Kruk bildete sich die Widerstandsgruppe PAPIER BRIGADE, die im Angesicht des nahenden Todes verzweifelt versuchte, einen Teil der kostbaren Sammlungen für die Zukunft zu retten und das Vergessen zu verhindern.

Mémorial de la Shoah 2018, Paris IMAJ 2019, Brüssel Jewish International Film Festival, Melbourne 2019 Gandel Holocaust Education Conference, Melbourne 2019

KATHLEEN FERRIER (BE/FR 2012) ROBERT FORTUNE: THE TEA THIEF (BE 2001) LA BANDE DESSINÈE A 100 ANS (BE 1996) SURVIVRE À SHANGHAI (BE 1990)

Diane Perelsztejn ist eine internationale ausgezeichnete Dokumentarfilmemacherin, deren Filme auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals gezeigt und auch weltweit im Fernsehen ausgestrahlt wurden.

Filmvorstellungen

16.09.2019

19:00
Hackesche Höfe Kino

In Kooperation mit dem Lithuanian Culture Institute Zu Gast:Nicola Galliner im Gespräch mit Diane Perelsztejn (Austarlien) und Eva Mattes und mit einer Einführung von Dr. Anja Siegemund (Stiftungsdirektorin, Stiftung Neue Synagoge berlin-Centrum Judaicum)

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren