25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films STRANGE FRUIT

STRANGE FRUIT

© Joel Katz Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

The extraordinary and little-known story behind Billie Holiday’s song Strange Fruit.

57 min. |

Director, screenplay, production, and editing: Joel Katz US 2002, documentary, 57 min., English OV Cinematography: John Miglietta, Thomas Torres

Many people associate Billie Holiday with Strange Fruit, one of her signature songs. But few are aware that it wasn’t Billie Holiday who composed the lyrics, but a Jewish high school teacher and union activist from the Bronx, Abel Meeropol. Troubled by a photo of a lynching, Meeropol penned both the stark poem and its haunting melody in the late 1930s under the pseudonym Lewis Allan. STRANGE FRUIT is not only a film about the story behind the legendary song, but also a fascinating portrait of Abel Meeropol and his wife Anne: they adopted the children of Julius and Ethel Rosenberg, who were executed in 1953.

(selection) Seattle International Film Festival 2002, Philadelphia Jewish Film Festival 2003, Singapore International Film Festival 2003, Viennale 2003

THE #1 BUS CHRONICLES (US 2019); WHITE: A MEMOIR IN COLOR (US 2012); THE COWBELL IN THE TREE (US 2004); JOHNNY & CLYDE 8 (US 1999); DEAR CARRY (US 1997); CORPORATION WITH A MOVIE CAMERA (US 1992); DAT'S ENTERTAINMENT (US 1992); GULF BOWL (US 1990); MNEMONIC STUDY: ELLIS ISLAND (US 1985); ONIERA (US 1984)

Filmmaker and educator Joel Katz lives in Montclair, New Jersey. His oeuvre encompasses documentaries, experimental films, and essay films screened at numerous film festivals around the world. Some have been included in the permanent collection of the MOMA in New York. Joel Katz has been a professor at the Media Arts Department at New Jersey City University since 1996. He was in Mainz, Germany, as a Fulbright Senior Scholar in 2008 and served on the board of Third World Newsreel from 1999 to 2016. He has served on the Advisory Board of the Black Maria Film Festival since 2011.

Screenings

15.09.2019

21:00
DELPHI LUX

Introduction: Anette Kahane (Amadeu Antonio Stiftung)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme STRANGE FRUIT

STRANGE FRUIT

© Joel Katz Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Die unbekannte und ungewöhnliche Geschichte hinter dem Lied „Strange Fruit“ von Billie Holiday

57 min. |

Regie, Drehbuch, Produktion & Schnitt: Joel Katz US 2002 Kamera: John Miglietta, Thomas Torres

Strange Fruit war eines der Lieder, mit denen die Sängerin Billie Holiday berühmt wurde. Nur wenige wissen, dass nicht sie den Text zu diesem Lied schrieb, sondern ein jüdischer Oberschullehrer und aktiver Gewerkschafter aus der Bronx, Abel Meeropol. Unter dem schockierenden Eindruck des Fotos einer Lynchszene und unter dem Pseudonym Lewis Allan schrieb Meeropol Ende der 1930er Jahre sowohl das schlichte Gedicht als auch die düstere Melodie. Doch STRANGE FRUIT ist nicht nur ein Film über die Entstehungsgeschichte des legendären Liedes, sondern auch ein spannendes Porträt von Abel Meeropol und seiner Frau Anne, die die Kinder der 1953 wegen vermeintlicher sowjetischer Spionage hingerichteten Julius und Ethel Rosenberg, Robert und Michael, adoptierten.

(Auswahl) Seattle International Film Festival 2002 Philadelphia Jewish Film Festival 2003 Singapore International Film Festival 2003 Viennale, 2003

THE #1 BUS CHRONICLES (US 2019) WHITE: A MEMOIR IN COLOR (US 2012) THE COWBELL IN THE TREE (US 2004) JOHNNY & CLYDE 8 (US 1999) DEAR CARRY (US 1997) CORPORATION WITH A MOVIE CAMERA (US 1992) DAT'S ENTERTAINMENT (US 1992) GULF BOWL (US 1990) MNEMONIC STUDY: ELLIS ISLAND (US 1985) ONIERA (US 1984)

Joel Katz lebt als Filmemacher und Pädagoge in Montclair, New Jersey. Sein Werk umfasst Dokumentar-, Experimental- und Essayfilme, die auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals weltweit laufen. Einige wurden in die permanente Sammlung des Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) New York aufgenommen. Seit 1996 ist Joel Katz Professor am Media Arts Department an der New Jersey City University. 2008 war er als Fulbright Senior Scholar in Mainz und von 1999 bis 2016 im Vorstand des Third World Newsreel tätig. Seit 2011 ist er Berater des Black Maria Film Festival.

Filmvorstellungen

15.09.2019

21:00
DELPHI LUX

Einführung: Anette Kahane (Amadeu Antonio Stiftung)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren