25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films THE LAST RESORT

THE LAST RESORT

© Andy Sweet Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

Photographers Andy Sweet and Gary Monroe took pictures in Miami’s Jewish community for 10 years; their photos are a lasting monument to the Jewish residents and visitors.

70 min. |

Directors and producers: Dennis Scholl & Kareem Tabsch USA 2018, documentary, European premiere, 70 min., English OV Production: Scholl Creative, Coffee and Celluloid Productions International distribution: Kino Lorber, USA Cinematography: Joey Daoud Editing: Kareem Tabsch

In the 1970s, long before Miami Vice put the spotlight on Miami, South Beach was a paradise for Jewish pensioners. Attracted by the weather, the low rents, and the rich cultural life, they first spent summers there after long, cold winters up north. Later, many settled in South Beach year-round. Photographers Andy Sweet and Gary Monroe documented the residents and their lives for more than 10 years in the 1970s and 1980s. Their photos are a lasting monument to the Jewish retirees and visitors. Although many of the photos – documents of a forgotten era – seemed to be lost after Andy Sweet’s violent death, they have recently resurfaced. The documentary shows the two photographers’ different approaches, creating a unique portrait of a place and its residents, a place that no longer exists.

Virginia Film Festival 2018; Miami Jewish Film Festival 2018; DOC NYC 2018

DENNIS SCHOLL: DEEP CITY: THE BIRTH OF THE MIAMI SOUND (2014)

Before prizewinning documentary filmmaker Dennis Scholl shot his own films, mostly shorts, he wrote and produced numerous documentaries in collaboration with other filmmakers. THE LAST RESORT is his second fulllength documentary. Karem Tabsch is co-founder of O Cinema, Miami’s largest arthouse theater, and has devoted himself entirely to broadening cinematic culture and keeping it alive. He has received numerous awards for his achievements in the world of film and cinema. He produced many documentaries before winning multiple prizes for his first short DOLPHIN LOVER. THE LAST RESORT is his first full-length film.

Screenings

13.09.2019

18:00
Filmkunst 66

Introduction: Deidre Berger (Direktorin American Jewish Committee Berlin)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme THE LAST RESORT

THE LAST RESORT

© Andy Sweet Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Die Fotografen Andy Sweet und Gary Monroe fotografierten zehn Jahre lang in der jüdischen Community von Miami und haben mit ihren Fotos den jüdischen Bewohner*innen und Besucher*innen ein Denkmal gesetzt.

70 min. |

Regie, Produzenten: Dennis Scholl & Kareem Tabsch USA 2018, Europapremiere Produktion: Scholl Creative, Coffee and Celluloid Productions Weltvertrieb: Kino Lorber, USA Kamera: Joey Daoud Schnitt Kareem Tabsch

In den 1970er Jahren, noch lange bevor Miami als Kulisse von Miami Vice Furore machte, war South Beach das Paradies für jüdische Rentner*innen. Angezogen vom schönen Wetter, den niedrigen Mieten und dem abwechslungsreichen Kulturleben, kamen viele Pensionäre nach einem langen und kalten Winter aus den nördlichen Landesteilen und verbrachten zunächst die Sommer dort. Später ließen sich viele von ihnen ganz dort nieder. In den 1970er und 1980ern hielten die Fotografen Andy Sweet und Gary Monroe das Leben und Treiben der Bewohner*innen fest. Mit ihrem fotografischen Werk setzten sie den jüdischen Rentner*innen und Besucher*innen ein Denkmal. Viele der Fotos galten nach dem gewaltsamen Tod von Andy Sweet verschollen. Jetzt sind diese Dokumente einer vergessenen Zeit zum großen Teil wieder aufgetaucht. Der Dokumentarfilm zeigt die unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen der beiden Fotografen und erschafft so das ungewöhnliche Porträt eines Ortes und seiner Bewohner, der so schon lange nicht mehr existiert.

Virginia Film Festival 2018 Miami Jewish Film Festival 2018 DOC NYC 2018

DEEP CITY: THE BIRTH OF THE MIAMI SOUND (DENNIS SCHOLL, US 2014)

Dennis Scholl ist ein preisgekrönter Dokumentarfilmer. Bevor er eigene Filme, vor allem Kurzfilme, drehte, schrieb und produzierte er zahlreiche Dokumentarfilme gemeinsam mit anderen Filmemachern. THE LAST RESORT ist sein zweiter langer Dokumentarfilm. Karem Tabsch ist der Mitgründer des O Cinema, Miamis größtem Arthouse Kino und hat sich ganz der Verbreitung und dem Aufrechthalten der Kinokultur verschrieben. Für seine Verdienste um den Film und das Kino wurde er vielfach ausgezeichnet. Er produzierte zahlreiche Dokumentarfilme, bevor er selbst mit seinem ersten Kurzfilm DOLPHIN LOVER zahlreiche Preise gewann. THE LAST RESORT ist sein erster Langfilm.

Filmvorstellungen

13.09.2019

18:00
Filmkunst 66

Einführung: Deidre Berger (Direktorin American Jewish Committee Berlin)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren