25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films THE MOVER

THE MOVER

© Film Studio Mistrus Media Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

The unknown story of Latvian Žanis Lipke, who hid many Jews in his cellar in Riga during the Second World War.

90 min. |

Director: Dāvis Sīmanis LV 2018, Berlin premiere, Latvian with English subtitles Production: Mistrus Media Producers: Gints Grūbe International distribution: Menesha Films Screenplay: Dāvis Sīmanis, Matīss Gricmanis Cinematography: Andrejs Rudzāts Editing: Andris Grants, Davis Sīmanis Cast: Artūrs Skrastiņš, Ilze Blauberga, Leonīds Lencs, Matīss Kipļuks

THE MOVER tells the story of Žanis Lipke, who rescued Jews from a labor camp in Riga during the German occupation. Žanis was a simple laborer who tried like many others to secure his family’s survival under the German occupation during the Second World War. He worked in a German weapons depot and was also a small-time smuggler. When his Jewish friend and neighbor is taken away, he grasps the grue some reality and begins to smuggle Jews out of the weapons depot. At first, he only takes them to safety; later, he hides them in the bunker under his house. The film leaves open whether he acted out of stubbornness or altruism; in any case, he became a Latvian hero.

Karlovy Vary International Film Festival 2019

ESCAPING RIGA (2018) EXILED (2016); CHRONICLES OF THE LAST TEMPLE (2012) PASAULES SKANA (2010) VALKYRIE LIMITED (2009) VERSION.LNO (2007)

Born in Latvia, Dāvis Sīmanis Jr., directs documentaries and feature films and also writes screenplays and teaches film. His doctorate was on the representation of history in film. His films have received awards at numerous film festivals; time and again, they take up the history of Latvia. In 2018, his film ESCAPING RIGA was shown at the JFBB.

Screenings

14.09.2019

20:00
Filmkunst 66

In cooperation with Deutsches Kulturforum östliches Europa Guests: Gudrun Holz talks with Dāvis Sīmanis (Latvia)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme THE MOVER

THE MOVER

© Film Studio Mistrus Media Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Die unbekannte Geschichte des Letten Žanis Lipke, der im Zweiten Weltkrieg zahlreiche Jüdinnen und Juden in seinem Keller in Riga versteckte.

90 min. |

Regie: Dāvis Sīmanis LV 2018, Berliner Premiere Produktion: Film Studio Mistrus Media Produzent: Gints Grūbe Weltvertrieb: Menesha Films Drehbuch: Dāvis Sīmanis, Matīss Gricmanis Kamera: Andrejs Rudzāts Schnitt: Andris Grants, Davis Sīmanis Darsteller: Artūrs Skrastiņš, Ilze Blauberga, Leonīds Lencs, Matīss Kipļuks

THE MOVER erzählt die Geschichte von Žanis Lipke, der während der deutschen Besatzung in Riga Juden aus einem Arbeitslager rettete. Žanis war ein einfacher Arbeiter, der wie viele versuchte, das Überleben seiner Familie während der deutschen Besatzung im Zweiten Weltkrieg zu sichern. Er arbeitete in einem deutschen Waffenlager und übernahm auch kleine Schmuggeltätigkeiten. Als sein jüdischer Freund und Nachbar abgeholt wird, begreift er die grausame Realität und beginnt, Juden aus dem Waffenlager zu schmuggeln. Erst bringt er sie nur in Sicherheit, dann versteckt er sie in dem Bunker unter seinem Haus. Der Film lässt offen, ob er aus Sturheit oder Nächstenliebe handelte, doch wurde er so zum lettischen Helden.

Karlovy Vary International Film Festival 2019

ESCAPING RIGA (2018); EXILED (2016) CHRONICLES OF THE LAST TEMPLE (2012) PASAULES SKANA (2010); VALKYRIE LIMITED (2009) VERSION.LNO (2007)

Dāvis Sīmanis Jr., geboren in Lettland, zeichnet als Dokumentar- und Spielfilmregisseur und ist zudem als Drehbuchautor und Filmdozent tätig. Seine Dissertation hat er über die Darstellung von Geschichte im Film geschrieben. Seine Filme, die sich auch immer wieder um die Geschichte Lettlands drehen, wurden auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals prämiert. 2018 war er mit ESCAPING RIGA beim JFBB vertreten.

Filmvorstellungen

14.09.2019

20:00
Filmkunst 66

In Kooperation mit dem Deutschen Kulturforum östliches Europa Zu Gast: Gudrun Holz im Gespräch mit Dāvis Sīmanis (Lettland)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren