25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films TO DUST

TO DUST

© To Dust The Movie, LLC. All Rights Reserved Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

An Orthodox widower (Géza Röhrig, SON OF SAUL) seeks final answers after his wife’s death in this tragicomedy that is as macabre as it is deeply human.

105 min. |

Director: Shawn Snyder USA 2018, feature film, German festival premiere, 105 min., OV Producer: IL 2016, Europapremiere, 5 Min., ohne Dialog Emily Mortimer, Alessandro Nivola, Ron Perlman, Josh Crook, Scott Lochmus International distribution: Park Circus, UK Cinematography: Xavi Giménez Cast: Géza Röhrig, Matthew Broderick

None of the traditional mourning rituals can give Orthodox cantor Shmuel (Géza Röhrig, SON OF SAUL) solace after the death of his wife. Convinced that the soul finds peace only when the body has fallen to dust, the 48- year-old father of two sons seeks a scientific answer to the question how long it takes for the human body to decompose after death. But the only person he finds at the nearby college is bumbling biology professor Albert (Matthew Broderick). They join together to seek final answers, and they find them, not least in a rotting pig. As macabre as it is moving and deeply human, this tragicomedy deals with loss and mourning and the great art of finding new joy in life through remembrance that honors the deceased.

Tribeca Film Festival New York, 2018; Gershman Philadelphia Jewish Film Festival, 2018; Palm Springs International Film Festival 2019

TO DUST, USA 2018

Shawn Snyder grew up in a liberal Jewish family in southern Florida and first studied religion at Harvard before obtaining a degree in film at New York University. His short films include IF FOUND, PLEASE CONTACT (2012), FESTUS (2014), and LULU (2015). Snyder’s debut full-length feature film TO DUST, in which he also grappled with losing his own mother, was awarded the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Award

Screenings

14.09.2019

21:00
DELPHI LUX

Guests: Thomas Abeltshauser talks with Shawn Snyder (USA)

Ticketlink

15.09.2019

20:00
FILMTHEATER AM FRIEDRICHSHAIN

Guests: Thomas Abeltshauser talks with Shawn Snyder (USA)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme TO DUST

TO DUST

© To Dust The Movie, LLC. All Rights Reserved Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Ein orthodoxer Witwer sucht nach dem Tod seiner Frau nach letzten Antworten in dieser makabren wie zutiefst menschlichen Tragikomödie.

105 min. |

Regie: Shawn Snyder US 2018, deutsche Festivalpremiere Produzenten: Emily Mortimer, Alessandro Nivola, Ron Perlman, Josh Crook, Scott Lochmus Weltvertrieb: Park Circus, Vereinigtes Königreich Kamera: Xavi Giménez Darsteller: Géza Röhrig, Matthew Broderick,

Keines der traditionellen Trauerrituale kann den orthodoxen Kantor Shmuel (Géza Röhrig, SON OF SAUL) über den Verlust seiner kürzlich verstorbenen Frau trösten. Davon überzeugt, dass ihre Seele erst Ruhe findet, wenn ihr Leib zu Staub verfallen ist, sucht der 48-jährige Vater zwei Söhne nach einer wissenschaftlichen Erklärung, wie schnell sich der menschliche Körper nach dem Tod zersetzt. Doch der einzige, den er im nahegelegenen College findet, ist der schusseliger Biologielehrer Albert (Matthew Broderick). Gemeinsam machen sie sich auf die Suche nach den letzten Antworten und finden sie nicht zuletzt bei einem verrottenden Schwein. Eine ebenso makabre wie bewegende, zutiefst menschliche Tragikomödie über Verlust und Trauer und die große Kunst, durch das ehrende Erinnern neue Lebensfreude zu finden.

Tribeca Film Festival New York, 2018 Gershman Philadelphia Jewish Film Festival, 2018 Palm Springs International Film Festival 2019

Aufgewachsen in einer liberalen jüdischen Familie im Süden Floridas, studierte Shawn Snyder zunächst Religion in Harvard und graduierte anschließend im Filmstudiengang an der New York University. Zu seinen Kurzfilmen zählen wie IF FOUND, PLEASE CONTACT (2012), FESTUS (2014) und LULU (2015). Snyders Langfilmdebüt TO DUST, mit dem er auch den Verlust seiner eigenen Mutter verarbeitet hat, wurde mit dem Alfred P. Sloan Produktionsförderpreis ausgezeichnet.

Filmvorstellungen

14.09.2019

21:00
DELPHI LUX

Zu Gast: Thomas Abeltshauser im Gespräch mit Shawn Snyder (USA)

Ticketlink

15.09.2019

20:00
FILMTHEATER AM FRIEDRICHSHAIN

Zu Gast: Thomas Abeltshauser im Gespräch mit Shawn Snyder (USA)

Ticketlink
Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren