25 JAHRE JFBB!

Films UNSETTLING

UNSETTLING

© Or Azouly Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube or Vimeo (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Youtube (Trailer) Your current privacy settings dont allow embedding Vimeo (Trailer) Play trailer

Documentary filmmaker and activist Iris Zaki spends 4 weeks in Tekoa in the West Bank. She meets the most varied discussion partners after overcoming their initial distrust. A refreshing look at a different Israeli reality.

70 min. |

Director: Iris Zaki IL/UK 2018, documentary, Berlin premiere, 70 min., Hebrew with English subtitles Production: Nutz Production, Tel Aviv Producers: Iris Zaki, Osnat Saraga with support from Other Israel, Gesher Multicultural Film Fund, Pulitzer Center International distribution: go2films, Israel Screenplay: Iris Zaki, Oren Yaniv Cinematography: Or Azulay, Iris Zaki Editing: Oren Yaniv

Tekoa is a hip settlement in the West Bank with the most varied residents. Iris Zaki spends a month there and sets up an improvised television studio consisting of a table and two chairs beside a small shop. She invites the residents to talk to her there. As a leftist activist, she is first met with distrust, but as she stubbornly waits there day after day, people become curious, and a number of encounters come about. This small intervention becomes a social experiment providing a space for a rare and active exchange and for all the differences and contradictions.

Awards: Special Mention for Best Feature - SIMA Awards, US Bob Simon award for Best Film – Other Israel, US Shortlisted for One World Media, UK Nominated for Best Documentary – Israeli Documentary Forum; Festivals: BFI London Film Festival; CPH:DOX; New Horizons; Docaviv; Cinedoc Tbilisi; Dokufest Kosovo; Santa Barbara International; One World Romania; Ethnofest Greece; Astra, Romania; Other Israel, USA; Boston Jewish Film Festival; UK Jewish Film Festival; Copenhagen Jewish Film Festival; Tartu World Film Festival; Maine Jewish Film Festival; DOK.fest München; EDOC Ecuador; Washington Jewish Film Festival;

WOMEN IN SINK, UK/IL 2015; MY KOSHER SHIFTS, UK 2011

Iris Zaki is a documentary filmmaker and scholar. She narrates her documentary works from a first-person perspective to describe society. This technique, which she calls “the abandoned camera,” was the basis of her dissertation, which she completed at Royal Holloway, London. Her film WOMEN IN SINK (2016) was screened at more than 120 festivals and at universities and won 13 awards, including the coveted Grierson Award.

Screenings

14.09.2019

21:00
Hackesche Höfe Kino

Guests: Lihi Nagler talks with Iris Zaki (Israel)

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren

25 JAHRE JFBB!

Filme UNSETTLING

UNSETTLING

© Or Azouly Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube & Vimeo (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Youtube (Trailer) Deine Datenschutz-Einstellung verbietet die Einbindung von Vimeo (Trailer) Trailer abspielen

Dokumentarfilmerin und Aktivistin Iris Zaki verbringt vier Wochen in Tekoa, Westbank. Nach anfänglichem Misstrauen trifft sie auf die unterschiedlichsten Gesprächspartner*innen. Ein erfrischender Blick auf eine andere israelische Realität

70 min. |

Regie: Iris Zaki IL/UK 2018, Berliner Premiere Produktion: Nutz Production, Tel Aviv Produzent*innen: Iris Zaki, Osnat Saraga mit Unterstützung von Other Israel, Gesher Multicultural Film Fund, Pulitzer Center Weltvertrieb: go2films, Israel Drehbuch: Iris Zaki, Oren Yaniv Kamera: Or Azulay, Iris Zaki Schnitt: Oren Yaniv

Tekoa ist eine hippe Siedlung in der Westbank – mit den unterschiedlichsten Bewohner*innen. Iris Zaki lässt sich dort für einen Monat nieder und errichtet neben einem kleinen Laden ein improvisiertes Fernsehstudio, bestehend aus einem Tisch und zwei Stühlen, in das sie die Bewohner einlädt, mit ihr zu sprechen. Diese begegnen der linken Aktivistin anfangs misstrauisch, aber ihre Hartnäckigkeit, dort jeden Tag aufs Neue zu warten, weckt auch Neugierde und setzt eine Reihe von Begegnungen in Gang. Diese kleine Intervention wird zu einem sozialen Experiment, bei dem alle Gegensätze und Widersprüche Platz haben und es zu einem seltenen und aktiven Austausch kommt.

CPH:DOX Kopenhagen 2018 Filmfest München 2019

WOMEN IN SINK (UK/IL 2015) MY KOSHER SHIFTS (UK 2011)

Iris Zaki ist Dokumentarfilmerin und Wissenschaftlerin. Ihre dokumentarischen Themen erzählt sie aus der Ich-Perspektive, um die Gesellschaft zu beschreiben. Diese Technik, dies sie als „the abandoned camera“ bezeichnet, war Grundlage ihrer Dissertation, die sie am Royal Holloway College London abschloss. Ihr Film WOMEN IN SINK (2016) wurde auf mehr als 120 Festivals und an Universitäten gezeigt und mit 13 Preisen ausgezeichnet, u.a. mit dem begehrten Grierson Award.

Filmvorstellungen

14.09.2019

21:00
Hackesche Höfe Kino

Zu Gast: Lihi Nagler im Gespräch mit Iris Zaki (Israel)

Bitte lese und akzeptiere unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung bevor die Seite in vollem Umfang genutzt werden kann. akzeptieren