Films VANITY OF VANITIES (Sueta Suet)

VANITY OF VANITIES (Sueta Suet)

Play trailer WATCH ONLINE

| 19 min. |RU 2018

Language: Russian (Original) Subtitles: English

This humorous animated film is set in a Russian shtetl. A young couple wants to get married, but the bride’s father and the village pharmacist deem the groom unsuitable. In the end, they tie the knot thanks to celestial and worldly magic. This charming love story is told imaginatively with Chagallesque imagery and a klezmer soundtrack.

Directors: Alexey Turkus, Alexey Shelmanov Script: Oleg Egorov Producers: Vadim Pegasov Production company: Akvarius Film Animations: Andrej Boloshin, Svetlana Zimina, Ekaterina Chernyavskaya, Olga Li, Jurij Povorov

Awards: Grand-Prix and Prize of Audience, Open Russian Animation Film Festival in Suzdal 2018; Best Short Film, Moscow Jewish Film Festival 2018; Prize T. Guerra, КRОК International Festival Animated Film, Russia-Ukraine 2018; Warsaw Phoenix for the best short film, Jewish Motifs International Film Festival 2019; Best Animation Film, Evenings of Russian Cinema in Bordeaux 2019 Festivals: Big Cartoon Festival, Russia, 2018; Atlanta Jewish Film Festival, 2019; ANIMA Animation Film Festival, Belgium 2019; Toronto Jewish Film Festival, 2019; ANIMATOR International Animated Film Festival, Poland 2019; HIROSHIMA International Animation Festival 2020

Aleksey Turkus (1955-2020) graduated from Moscow Institute of Architecture in 1978. In 1985 he finished High Courses in scriptwriting and film directing. From 1985 to 2008 he worked at animation studios Soyuzmultfilm, Argus, and Metronom. Beginning in 2009, he worked at Aquarius Film Company and Christmas Films as author of the script, director, and production designer. Aleksey Turkus was also an architect, an illustrator of children's books and magazines, a member of the Russian Union of Cinematographers, and a member of the Academy Awards “NIKA.” Alexey Shelmanov (1955-2011) graduated from Moscow Institute of Architecture in 1978 and worked as an architect from 1978 to 1982. In 1985 he finished High Courses in scriptwriting and film directing. From 1985 to 2008, he worked at the animation studios Soyuzmultfilm, Argus, Metronom, and others as a director and production designer. He directed several films together with Alexey Turkus. He illustrated children's books from 1986 on.

Filme VANITY OF VANITIES (Sueta Suet)

VANITY OF VANITIES (Sueta Suet)

Trailer abspielen ONLINE ANSEHEN

| 19 min. |RU 2018

Sprache: Russisch (Original) Untertitel: Englisch

Der humorvolle Animationsfilm spielt in einem russischen Schtetl. Ein junges Paar will heiraten. Doch dem Vater der Braut und der Dorfapotheker befinden den Bräutigam für ungeeignet. Mit etwas himmlischer und weltlicher Magie muss nachgeholfen werden. Die charmante Liebesgeschichte wird phantasievoll mit einer chagallesken Bildsprache erzählt und mit einer Kletzmerpartitur untermalt.

Regie: Alexey Turkus, Alexey Shelmanov Drehbuch: Oleg Egorov Produzent*innen: Vadim Pegasov Produktion: Akvarius Film Animatoren: Andrej Boloshin, Svetlana Zimina, Ekaterina Chernyavskaya, Olga Li, Jurij Povorov

Auszeichnungen: Grand-Prix und Zuschauerpreis, Open Russian Animation Film Festival in Suzdal 2018; Bester Kurzfilm, Moscow Jewish Film Festival 2018; Preis T. Guerra, КRОК International Festival Animated Film, Russland-Ukraine 2018; Warsaw Phoenix für den besten Kurzfilm, Jewish Motifs International Film Festival 2019; Best Animation Film, Evenings of Russian Cinema in Bordeaux 2019 Festivals: Big Cartoon Festival, Russland, 2018; Atlanta Jewish Film Festival, 2019; ANIMA Animation Film Festival, Belgien 2019; Toronto Jewish Film Festival, 2019; ANIMATOR International Animated Film Festival, Polen 2019; HIROSHIMA International Animation Festival 2020

Aleksey Turkus (1955-2020) machte 1978 seinen Abschluss am Moskauer Institut für Architektur. 1985 schloss er High Courses in Drehbuch und Regie ab. Von 1985 bis 2008 war er bei den Animationsstudios Soyuzmultfilm, Argus und Metronom tätig. Ab 2009 arbeitete er bei Aquarius Film Company und Christmas Films als Drehbuchautor, Regisseur und Produktionsdesigner. Aleksey Turkus war außerdem Architekt, Kinderbuch- und -magazinillustrator sowie Mitglied der Russian Union of Cinematographers und der Academy Awards „NIKA“. Alexey Shelmanov (1955-2011) legte 1978 seinen Abschluss am Moskauer Institut für Architektur ab und arbeitete von 1978 bis 1982 als Architekt. 1985 absolvierte er High Courses in Drehbuch und Regie. Von 1985 bis 2008 arbeitete er u.a. bei den Animationsstudios Soyuzmultfilm, Argus und Metronom als Regisseur und Produktionsdesigner. Er führte gemeinsam mit Alexey Turkus bei mehreren Filmen Regie. Ab 1986 war er auch Kinderbuchillustrator.